2006 grand cherokee reliability?

bac0701

Observer
long story short my 4runner frame busted due to rust and I'm in a pinch. I've been in a toyota for the past 9 years. i don't know much at all about jeeps but someone local offered a 06 to me with like 50k miles for 11k? i believe its a 6cyl. could anyone enlighten me. i loved my 4runner but i think I'm going to part ways, tacoma was bought back and this was a let down.

Mitch502

Explorer
Eh. We have an 06. I refused to get anything besides a v8. maybe someone with personal experience can chime in, but as much as I love Jeeps, for 11K I'd be looking at Land Cruisers if you're wanting to stay in the Toyota family.

What are you going to be doing with this vehicle?

Oh, and we paid ~15K for our 06 It's a Limited w/ HEMI and 70K miles.

mtbxj87

Adventurer
As a mechanic, I am in the 3.7 and 4.7 motors quite often. Some at as young as 70k. they have oiling problems. A lifter looses pressure some how, debris or pressure bleed down, then the rockers fall off into the valve covers. It's dumb. Plus theyre over head valve and still only two valves per cylinder, kinda redundant. I think the chassis is ok tho, nice interior, nice riding suspension. Tho the IFS is limited for lift options.

ZMagic97

Explorer
If you don;t mind getting one two years older, the 2004s and down with the 4,0 I6 are legends. Happy hunting!

kayadog

Adventurer
I have 2010 3.7 Grand Cherokee I've had since new with 102k miles on it now and like it but don't love it. The 3.7 is underpowered and the vast majority of V6 WK's came with the quadra-trac I single speed transfer case so they don't have low range if that matters to you. Other than that its been very reliable, is very comfortable on long trips (just took ours on a 2,500 road trip), and is more capable than you would think in stock form. It averages about 18mpg mixed driving. You can get a 2" spacer lift cheap and run 265/70r17's, but I'm sure the 3.7 will be even more strained.