4 Wheeling with Jacks On Camper

canyonrover

I am considering a Hallmark Everest or K2 and I have a question regarding 4 wheeling with the camper jacks on the corners of the camper. I currently camp far off the beaten path where angle of departure is very important. I am new to the possibility of a truck camper but it seems to me that the camper jacks would greatly reduce your angle of departure and where I plan to continue to go I would surely rip them right off. Maybe I am missing something. So, can they be removed easily? Do they suck up higher than it would appear in photos? I looked through the "Post pics of your truck and camper" thread and noticed that the FWC typically don't have jacks on the corners. Is this because it does decrease the angle of departure and they are made to be removable. This sounds silly but if I can't go where I want because of the jacks I will look at other camper/trailer options.

Thanks for the input.

CanyonRover

kpredator

Adventurer
jacks

drove the white rim trail in canyon lands a few years ago,found a jack that had been torn off.
really not that tough of a trail.
we always take ours off.
good luck
kp

Mundo4x4Casa

West slope, N. Ser. Nev.
Yep, leave the jax at home. That is one of the great things about a pop-up. Small manual jax that remove easily. And it makes a percentage-wise good savings of weight when they are off. My jax never leave the compound. Remember i am the self-proclaimed, king-of-the-jax-off.
My bro John has an OUTFITTER! on his '99 Ford F250 and I finally convinced him to remove them for a hard-core trip we did last fall. His were electric jax and he had to cut and put push connectors on all 8 wires to remove the jax. It did save a lot of weight and he retained plenty of clearance.
regards, as always, jefe

canyonrover

Thanks for all the replies. I know it was probably a dumb question but I have never looked that close. Off they will come. I need the clearance.

JHa6av8r

Adventurer