Bought a kayak - some questions

sundaypunch

Observer
I'm totally new to kayaks. I have been watching Craigslist and just got a good deal on a used Ocean Kayaks Malibu Two XL tandem. I wanted something stable for the family. We will probably be floating down the local river and using it at the beach this summer.

The kayak has two 8" hatches and a 10"x18" in the center. These are uncut. I was wondering how water-tight they generally are if I cut a hole and install a hatch cover?

I'm sure I will find this out quickly on our first outing but I'll ask anyway. If I install a 3rd seat, which position would I be better off in (assuming I'm doing the paddling and my wife and child are along for the ride)? I'm about 180#, my wife and daughter are about 110# & 100#.

malibu_two_xl.jpg

mog

Kodiak Buckaroo
The kayak has two 8" hatches and a 10"x18" in the center. These are uncut. I was wondering how water-tight they generally are if I cut a hole and install a hatch cover?

I have both types on my Ocean Kayaks, the rubber covers (10"x18"), and the plastic covers (8") that have latches. Both types are pretty water tight, but anything you put in the hull should be is zip lock bags to keep the items totally dry. The plastic covers can be had much cheaper then from Ocean Kayak, they are a standard size. Great kayaks, well made and will last forever and then some.
Sorry I can't help you on the 3rd seat placement.

Nullifier

Expedition Leader
This is a really small kayak for 3 people. If you are going to try to paddle it with 3, just know that the center seat position is really for solo not carrying a 3rd adult size person. It is situataed very close to the bow paddler so you will have issues with the center persons legs getting mixed up with the bow paddlers seat back straps and paddling.