CB Radio Choice

grasshopper104

Adventurer
I've been looking at the Midland 75-822 or the Cobra 75 WX. Does anyone have any insight for me on either of these models?

barlowrs

Explorer
I have the cobra, works well for me. The antenna and location of the antenna are the keys to getting something to reach far, but I really like the cobra. I can remove it when I need to and hide it so I dont have a bunch of electronics hanging around the cab.

No complaints here on it.

stolenheron

Explorer
let me know how the midland works out. i'm looking to get a CB like that or the Cobra you already mentioned down the road.

MisterTinkle

Adventurer
I have no experience with the Cobra, but I have the Midland. The Midland fits my needs; no permanent mount, used only to communicate with other vehicles while off-road. You will definitely want to get an externally mounted antenna. When using the radio inside the truck with the rubber duck antenna that comes with the radio, I could only reach ~100 to 200 yards.

Sam

ExpoMike

I have the Cobra one and it works great, especially like the Weather stations.

The biggest thing about any CB is the antenna and getting it tuned. I have seen the Cobra and even very high end CB radios that work like crap because the antenna was not correctly setup, yet seen the cheapest radio work great because of a good antenna setup.

I personally use a Wilson 1000 mag mount (will eventually be thru the roof mount) and tuned it with an SWR meter. I have easily reached 5 miles behind me in rolling hills where the vehicle behind me can hear every word clearly. At the same time that vehicle, which did not have a correctly setup antenna, could not talk back to me because it was not setup and hence wasted it's power. ALL CB's are limited to 5 watts output (legally) and you have to make those watts work for you.