What to look for on the 1st generation Xterras? (2002-04, OR, SE, XE)

rockandroll

Adventurer
Gents,

After looking at early 2000s 4Runners, Cherokees, Monteros, Explorers, etc., Xterra is my #1. They seem to be currently undervalued when compared to the competition. My question is what should I look out for? I'm new to Nissan and I've done a few hours of searching and can't quite find what I'm looking for.

I'm looking at a 2002, 2003, 2004 XTerra for around $9k. It will be the primary vehicle for my wife and myself, used for trips to Denver (3 hours west) and into the Rockies.

- SE vs XE - Is there any practical reason to seek out the SE other than coloring?

- We would prefer the 5spd, but is the 4spd auto trans solid?

- What do you get with the factory tow package?

- Lockers, Off Road package? What should I look for?

Co-opski

Expedition Leader
Make sure the timing belt is done around 90 to 100k. Other than that look to see if any of the recalls were fixed, ie fuel sending unit, steering are the major ones. Good soild trucks I'm pushing 200k with mine and I'm about to get the 2nd timing belt done this summer.

drbandkgb

Xterra Junky
Gen 1 Xterra 2000-2001 Square lights
3.3 v6 basic XE / SE 160-170hp
No lockers.. Aftermarket are available (ARB)
Timing belt needs to be changed out every 105k
great basic 4x4 AT/MT AT pulling 5k MT 3500lbs
Price range 3k - 6k

Gen 1.5 2002-2004 Round lights
3.3 v6 basic XE / SE Interior redone
Supercharger is available (High grade gas only) (Knock sensor issues) 220hp
No lockers.. Aftermarket are available (ARB)
Timing belt needs to be changed out every 105k
great basic 4x4 AT/MT AT-5000lbs pulling MT 3500lbs pulling
Price range 4k - 10k

These SUVs are very under valued.. Ive owned 2 of them.. both have been very solid trucks.. Based on the Nissan Frontier 1998-2004

Look up www.xterranation.org to see what people have done to them.. From rock crawlers to overland SUVs

Slicky72

Adventurer