Ford’s new 6.8L V8

phsycle

Adventurer
Anyone know much about this engine? I actually had no idea Ford replaced the old 6.2 until I recently started playing with the Build&Price tool.

I’ve heard it’s a destroked 7.3? Why even have this engine as an option?
Hopefully it will be as stout as the one it replaced.

This engine can use E85 and have the propane conversion.
I know in the past the 7.3 didn't have those options, not sure about this year

tacollie

Glamper
It's supposed to get better mileage. From what I understand it shares some parts with the 7.3 so it may save Ford some money in production. Supposedly the internals aren't as stout as the 7.3.

The 6.8 comes with the 10r100 which should also help with mpgs. The 6.2 was mated to the 6r100 in the F250 and 10r140 in the F350 and the 6r140 in all trucks before '17.

Last time I checked the 6.8 was only available in basic XL trim trucks. Makes sense if they are targeting fleets using E85 or LP.

The 6.2 has been in production for 11 years. People like new things. We've been happy with the 6.2 but a lot of people don't like it.

phsycle

Adventurer
I was pricing out an XL. Interesting that it’s only offered in that trim. If I were to get an XL, it would seem to be worth the $1,700 upgrade to the 7.3. I can’t imagine the 6.8 getting much better MPG.

Having said that, I also priced out an XLT that comes standard with the 7.3. With similar options, the overall price was essentially the same (if not a little cheaper for the XLT). Both about $60k. Not like the old days (meaning, pre-pandemic) where XL’s could be had for thousands less than XLT.

XLT Tremor was $63.8k which would be the ticket for me as it comes with a lift and 35’s.

Last edited:

jbaucom