Critical Spares List: Discovery I

Scott Brady

Founder
I would like to put together a complete spares list for the Discovery I. We can work on other vehicles next, but as I am planning to leave for Baja in a few weeks, I like the idea of doing the DI first. I appreciate any and all feedback on this. I am far from a expert on these trucks and their faults, but this is the list I have so far. Sinuhe helped a bit with this too. As suggestions are made, I will update this first post. The goal is obviously to only bring the most critical items, not to be able to rebuild the entire truck.

This will also vary some by the year and engine management.

1994-1995 3.9L and 14CUX EMS
1996-1999 4.0L and GEMS

It is also critical to have the RAVE manuals with you. Mine is stored on my iPhone, which is convenient. I also keep a copy on the laptop.

Minimum Critical Spares List:
MAS Airflow Sensor
Fuel Pump
Fuel Pump Relay
Upper and Lower Radiator Hose
Accessory Engine Belt
Crankshaft Sensor (GEMS)
Brake Switch
Throttle Position Sensor (GEMS)
Ignition Module STC1184
Ignition Coil (14CUX)

Remote/International Travel Spares List: In addition to above
Water Pump
Cap and Rotor (14CUX)
Bulbs for critical indicator lights (brake, turn signal, etc.)
Starter
Alternator
2-4 Spark Plugs
Fuel Filter
Fan Clutch (VC)
Alternator
Oil Filter and complete change of oil
Air Filter
Belt Tensioner Pulley
Power Steering High Pressure Hose
Wheel Bearings F and R

Technical Terrain Addendum:
Rear Drive Shaft
Rear Axle Shaft (long and short side)
Drive Flange Bolts

Specialty Tools Required:

Additional Modifications to Reduce Failure: (optional)
Remove Hi-Neutral-Lo Interlock Servo

Additions or corrections? Thanks!

Last edited:

roverdoc

Observer
spares

That list is pretty solid..u joints, hub nut tool, replace the plastic radiator plug if you have not with metal, cv, third if you have not upgraded the carriers

J

jeepfreak