Give me the scoop guys...

ExpoScout

Explorer
I'm looking at getting a Discovery...but I'm a little hesitant due to "stories" I've heard in the past.

However, after looking at my options, I still keep coming back to the Discos...they have all the features I want and are very affordable (to purchase) these days.

So lets just say im looking at 1998-2004 models. What are the key things to look for, avoid, etc when purchasing one. I am a mechanic by trade (well used to be) but I've never worked on a Discovery before. Is this a vehicle that I will be able to work on myself? Or should I brace myself for getting my wallet emptied at the dealership should something happen?

Thanks

Wander

Expedition Leader
Do you want to use it off road? If so I can help narrow down the search years for you. The 00-03 DII's (and the late 99's I believe) do not have center diff locks that many feel hinders them on the trail. The 04's do have a CDL and are generally more sought after. Anything before late 99 are Discovery I's. Finding the right one is key as there are a lot of dogs out there. Due to the popularity and unique style of the Disco's many where owned by people that did not maintain them properly which is how some of the horror stories you hear got started.

Momrocks

Adventurer